LP released: May 26, 2023

1. Aether
2. Je Pense A Toi
3. Elevation
4. A Ciel Ouvert
5. Le Passage (Feat. Margot Ferro)
6. Between Flesh & Mind
7. Evolution (Feat. Miek)
8. Envole-moi (Feat. Margot Ferro)

A new artist on the Citizen Records / Clivage Music roster, Vhinz is a musician based
in Brussels. After taking his time to break onto the electronic scene, he’s now ready to
share Belvédère, his debut, dreamlike album, confidently intense, sweeping between
cinematic songs and soaring, epic electronic sounds.
Vincent Honca is Belgian, with Armenian roots and a love of keyboards: the mini
synth he used to play as a child, the classical piano of his years of training at the
Académie de Musique, the Yamaha synth of his teenage years... During the noughties
of his adolescence, electronic music was omnipresent in his life as he listened to and
admired Daft Punk, Moby, Vitalic, Air and The Chemical Brothers. He also went out
dancing, a lot, in the nightclubs and parties of Brussels and the vicinity, and soon his
love of computers, technology and synthesisers led to him producing his own music. 'I
wanted to create beautiful textures with synths,' he says. 'I wanted to have fun and
discover the possibilities. As part of the internet generation, I taught myself everything
I know through reading magazines and checking the forums.'
Vincent went on to become a computer programmer and decided to make music in as
much of his spare time as possible. His first productions came out in 2015, including
'Drastical', one of three deep house dancefloor-orientated tracks recorded with none
other than Kris Menace. 'At the time I was really searching for my musical identity,'
explains Vincent, and progressively his music started to lean towards another of his
passions – films and film music. 'I’ve listened to soundtracks a lot since I was a
teenager, and they’ve been a big influence, in particular the music for Heat by Elliot
Goldenthal, Gladiator (Hans Zimmer), Saving Private Ryan (John Williams), The Last
Temptation of Christ (Peter Gabriel), The Virgin Suicides (Air) and Leon (Eric
Serra).' Coincidentally, Vincent has already worked on two independent Belgian films
by director Christophe Karabache, UltravoKal and Vortex, both collaborations with
Michel Duprez.
Now Vincent has chosen the name Vhinz, bringing together his expertise with
machines and computers, his passion and enthusiasm for the electronic sounds of his
adolescence and his adoration of cinema’s powerful, impactful soundtracks. Vhinz’s
first track is thus called 'Aether', a track brimming with character and confidence,
with sung-spoken vocals that sweeps the listener up in bewitching synthetic themes
and drums like an off- kilter heartbeat. The track perfectly encapsulates
the Vhinz sound, and Citizen Records – the only label he sent it to – immediately loved
it and were ready to release a 12' with more. 'Then Covid and the lockdown
happened, and everything came to a complete halt,' remembers Vhinz. During those
long two years without anything being released, the project continued its gestation and
has now grown in a mini-album of eight coherent, fascinating tracks. 'I really wanted a
strong concept for everything, and so was born this album that I’ve called Belvédère. I
imagined myself on a belvedere with a panoramic view of the world, channelling all
the emotions it elicited in me into music.'
Belvédère is a dreamlike debut album, confidently intense, sweeping between
cinematic songs and soaring, epic electronic sounds. It’s a place for Vhinz to showcase
his dreams, talk, sing and invite others too: Margot Ferro sings on 'Le Passage' and
'Envole-moi', and Michael Meers lends his vocals to 'Evolution'. 'My album tells a
story, with the tracks in chronological order. There are both times of hope and darker
periods of my life, with sadness and love,' meaning that listeners are invited to
experience a suite of different emotions and be swept along by the author’s musical
daydreams. Musically, the album falls somewhere between Moby, Vitalic, Air and
Serge Gainsbourg, with a density and atmosphere that are completely Vhinz. 'With
Belvédère I was looking for beauty, but also something darker, dirtier, more organic.
The album is the culmination of that.'

You may also like...