CD released: Sep 25, 2020

1. 1. Shop Around - Mary Wells
2. 2. Way Over There - The Marvelettes
3. 3. Everybody's Gotta Pay Some Dues - The Miracles
4. 4. Mockingbird - Martha & The Vandellas
5. 5. Bye Bye Baby - Mary Wells
6. 6. I'll Try Something New - The Miracles
7. 7. Dream Baby - The Marvelettes
8. 8. Money (That's What I Want) - Barrett Strong
9. 9. What's So Good About Goodbye - The Miracles
10. 10. Let Me Go The Right Way - The Supremes
11. 11. I Don't Want To Take A Chance - Mary Wells
12. 12. Broken Hearted - The Miracles
13. 13. The One Who Really Loves You - The Marvelettes
14. 14. Do You Love Me - The Miracles
15. 15. Can I Get A Witness - Marvin Gaye
16. 16. Please Mr Postman - The Marvelettes
17. 17. You've Really Got A Hold On Me - The Miracles
18. 18. You Beat Me To The Punch - Mary Wells
19. 19. Pride And Joy - Marvin Gaye
20. 20. Oh I Apologise - Barrett Strong
21. 21. I Found A Girl - The Valadiers
22. 22. I Want A Guy - The Marvelettes
23. 23. Hitch Hike - Marvin Gaye
24. 24. I've Been Good To You - The Miracles
25. 25. Two Lovers - Mary Wells
26. 26. I Found Myself A Brand New Baby - Mike & The Modifiers
27. 27. Shake Sherry - The Contours
28. 28. Heat Wave - Martha & The Vandellas
Label: ACE
Cat No: CDTOP1578
Barcode: 29667099523
Packaging: CD Regular

By May 1964, when "The 'Sound' of the R&B Hits" compilation came out in the UK on Stateside, Motown had yet to have a hit or even a record issued on its own label, later to be Tamla-Motown. This LP was the first of many UK anthologies of recordings from the Detroit-based group of labels. At this stage, Motown was an underground affair, known only to aficionados of rhythm and blues music. Among those were members of groups such as the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Georgie Fame & the Blue Flames and super-fan Dusty Springfield.

This was not music that was played on the radio, so it was through UK cover versions that many young people were directed to the Motown sound. Ace director Roger Armstrong bought "The 'Sound' of the R&B Hits" at the time and always heard it is as a companion piece to "With The Beatles" from the previous year. They both contained the Barrett Strong song 'Money'.
For this CD release a further 14 tracks have been added to the original selection, including the ever-popular 'You've Really Got A Hold On Me', 'Please Mr Postman' and 'Heatwave'. Also made available are the rarely compiled and obscure 45s by two of only a few white groups on the label, Mike & the Modifiers and the Valadiers, which on Oriole will set you back at least £1,000 between them.
Co-compiled and annotated by well-known radio producer, writer and annotator of Beatles box sets, Kevin Howlett, the CD provides a real insight into Motown in the UK at the time.