CD released: Apr 28, 2023

1. Hanging On The Telephone - Blondie
2. Da Doo Ron Ron / I Wanna Be Sedated - The Dollyrots
3. Spirit Fm - Bad Moves
4. Out Of Time - Vibeke Saugestad
5. I'll Be Alright - Baby Shakes
6. Juvenille Thrills - The Launderettes
7. Dancing With Joey Ramone - Amy Rigby
8. Rock Boys - Suzy & Los Quattro
9. Get Enough - Ivy
10. Take It Off - The Donnas
11. In The City - Cocktail Slippers
12. Explosion! (English Version) - Shonen Knife
13. Teenage Kicks - Dawn Chorus & The Bluetits
14. Bright City Lights - The Dahlmanns
15. The Teens Are Square - The Courettes
16. Love So Pure - Puffy Amiyumi
17. Boy Crazy - Lydia Loveless
18. Cmon + Kiss Me - Sun 60
19. Peter Gunn Locomotion - The Delmonas
20. You're My Brian Jones - Palmyra Delran
21. We Only Come Out At Night - The Sugar Stems
22. Take It All Away - Girlschool
23. Alright Alright (Here's My Fist Where's The Fight?) - Sahara Hotnights
24. Unforgiven - Go-go's
Cat No: CDTOP352
Barcode: 029667108126
Packaging: CD Jewel Case

SHE’S GOT THE POWER! is the follow-up to our 'Girls Go Power
Pop!' collection of female-fronted bands from the 80s and 90s, and
the sisterly companion to 'Come On Let’s Go!' and 'Rockets Of
Love!', our two volumes of male Power Pop.

The term Power Pop was coined by Pete Townshend in 1967 to
highlight the difference between the Who and competitors such as
Herman’s Hermits. These days, the definition of the term has
become more wide-ranging. Blondie’s ‘Hanging On The Telephone’,
for instance, was regarded as new wave or punk in 1978, but with
the benefit of hindsight it’s more Power Pop than anything else.
This new compilation includes many more examples of the blurring
of lines: the Dollyrots’ pop-punk mash-up of the Crystals and the
Ramones is a rush of adrenalin and sweetness, the Donnas instil
enough pop into metal to lighten its heaviness, Bad Moves add pop
to indie, Lydia Loveless somehow squeezes pop into cow-punk, the
Launderettes pour greasy honey over garage-rock, and the
Courettes add a dash of Spectoresque candy over their tough retro-
rock – but the point is that it’s all pop with power.