2LP released: Feb 09, 2024

Side A
1. Gary's Gang - Keep On Dancin'
2. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - I Can't
3. Stop - Album Version
4. Rhyze - I Found Love In You
5. B.B.C.S. & A. - Rock Shock
Side B
1. Greg Henderson - Dreamin'
2. Vicky 'd' - This Beat Is Mine
3. Convertion - Let's Do It
4. Komiko - Feel Alright
Side C
1. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Love Magic
2. Gary's Gang - Let Lovedance Tonight
3. Lucy Hawkins - Gotta Get Out Of Here
4. Mike & Brenda Sutton - Anyway You Want My Love
Side D
1. John Davis & The Monster Orchestra - Up Jumped
2. The Devil
3. K.I.D. - Hupendi Muzik Wangu?! (You Don't Like My
4. Music)
5. Steve Shelto - Don't You Give Your Love Away
6. Glen Adams Affair - Just A Groove - Single Edit
Cat No: DEMREC1214
Barcode: 5014797911314
Packaging: 2LP

" This is the story of the one the great disco labels, a legendary label who were at the forefront
of a genre during it fruition and creative peak.
" Sam Weiss started SAM Records in Long Island City, New York in 1976. Sam, and his brother
Hy, were born in Romania before moving to the Bronx in New York City when they were
young. Sam and his brother were no strangers to the music business having been in the
industry since the mid-50s running labels Old Town and Parody Records.
" During the mid-1970s Disco took New York by storm and emerged into a revolutionary
musical force that re-shaped the face of the City. It was however a genre major labels largely
ignored initially. It was the smaller, independent labels that led the way in disco's early years.
Founded in 1974, Salsoul was the first. Sam's new label SAM Records arrived a year later,
followed by West End and Prelude in 1976: four labels from which umpteen disco classics
" This compilation compiles all of the classic material that SAM release during the years 1975
and 1983. Offering up a treasure trove of disco essential this compilation features tracks from
Gary's Gang, John Davis & The Monster Orchestra, Komiko, Rhyze, Convertion, Vicky "D",
Greg Henderson alongside deeper cuts by Lucy Hawkins, K.I.D and more.
" The audio used here has been sourced from the SAM archives and in many cases the mixes
are appearing in their truest 12-inch form. The set is complete with extensive liner notes by
The Guardian's chief music critic and disco authority Alexis Petridis.
" SAM Records has forever left its footprint on the Disco and music history, and this compilation
is an essential addition to anyone's collection.