4LP released: Apr 19, 2024

Side A 1969 To 1970
1. Freda Payne - Band Of Gold (Single Mix)
2. Chairmen Of The Board - Give Me Just A Little More Time
3. Flaming Ember - Westbound #9
4. Silent Majority - Frightened Girl
5. Chairmen Of The Board - You've Got Me Dangling On A String
6. Honey Cone - Girls It Ain't Easy
7. Chairmen Of The Board - Pay To The Piper
Side B
1. Chairmen Of The Board - Everything's Tuesday
2. Freda Payne - Unhooked Generation
3. Glass House - Crumbs Off The Table
4. Chairmen Of The Board - All We Need Is Understanding
5. Freda Payne - Deeper And Deeper
6. 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Somebody's Been Sleeping
7. Honey Cone - Want Ads
Side C 1971
1. Freda Payne - Bring The Boys Home
2. Barrino Brothers - I Shall Not Be Moved
3. 8th Day - You've Got To Crawl (Before You Walk)
4. Lucifer - Don't You (Think The Times A-comin')
5. Honey Cone - Sunday Morning People
6. Glass House - I Surrendered
Side D
1. Freda Payne - You Brought The Joy
2. General Johnson - I'm In Love Darling
3. Chairmen Of The Board - Working On A Building Of Love
4. Honey Cone - Stick Up
5. 8th Day - She's Not Just Another Woman (Single Mix)
6. Flaming Ember - Gotta Get Away
7. 8th Day - Eeny-meeny-miny Mo
Side E 1972
1. Holland-dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - Why Can't We Be Lovers
2. Chairmen Of The Board - Elmo James
3. Silent Majority - Something New About You
4. Barrino Brothers - Try It, You'll Like It
5. Danny Woods - Let Me Ride
6. Glass House - Thanks I Needed That
7. Laura Lee - Crumbs Off The Table
Side F
1. Warlock - You've Been My Rock
2. Laura Lee - Woman's Love Rights
3. Holland-dozier Ft Brain Holland - Don't Leave Me Starvin' For Your Love
4. The Politicians - Free Your Mind
5. Harrison Kennedy - Sunday Morning People
6. Satisfaction Unlimited - Let's Change The Subject
7. 100 Proof Aged In Soul - Nothing Sweeter Than Love
Side G 1973 To 1977
1. Eloise Laws - Love Factory
2. Freda Payne - We've Got To Find A Way Back To Love
3. Brian Holland - I'm So Glad Pt.1
4. Honey Cone - If I Can't Fly
5. Tyrone Edwards - Can't Get Enough Of You
6. Chairmen Of The Board - Skin I'm In
7. New York Port Authority - I Got It Pt. 1
Side H
1. Chairmen Of The Board - Finders Keepers
2. Hi-lites - That's Love
3. Freda Payne - Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right
4. Holland-dozier Featuring Lamont Dozier - New Breed Kinda Woman
5. Eloise Laws - Put A Little Love Into It (When You Do It)
6. Melvin Davis - You Made Me Over
7. Honey Cone Featuring Sharon Cash - Somebody Is Always Messing Up A Good Thing
'DETROIT' 1969 - 1977 (4LP VINYL SET)
Barcode: 5014797911499
Packaging: 4LP Gatefold

Holland, Dozier and Holland are arguably the greatest songwriters ever. More prolific than Lennon and McCartney,
they shaped "the Sound of Young America" and propelled the Motown sound in the mid-1960s into a creative
stratosphere unmatched by any other independent music label. Their trademark catchy teenage love songs were
delivered energetically by previously unknown Detroit groups like The Supremes, the Four Tops, Martha & the
Vandellas & Marvin Gaye.
Although synonymous with Berry Gordy's Motown, it was their departure from Motown after a stand-off strike in
1967 and a brutal legal battle that led them to run their own group of labels, Invictus, Hot Wax and Music
This compilation is a definitive look at this period in history, exploring how H-D-H, under a new guise 'The Creative
Corporation', drove the next generation of soul music in a myriad of different ways, towards funk, underground
disco and jazz. Featuring 55 tracks, this collection documents HDH's creativity and growth over this seminal 8 year
period. During this time the trio developed new artists to rival Motown's success such as Chairman Of The Board,
Freda Payne, Honey Cone, Glass House, Flaming Ember, 8th Day, Laura Lee & Eloise Laws.
The collection is complete with a detailed depiction of this period in history by award winning author Stuart
Cosgrove who wrote the Soul Trilogy, a series of books on soul music and social change - Detroit 67: the Year That
Changed Soul, Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul which won the Penderyn Prize, as Music Book of the Year
in 2018, and Harlem 69: the Future of Soul. Stuart's notes detail the relationship with Motown in the final days,
the immediate fall out after the trio left Motown and the creation of the new labels Hot Wax, Invictus & Music