CD released: Jun 25, 2021
(Item no longer available)

1. 1. Luckenbach, Texas (Back To The Basics Of Love) - Waylon Jennings
2. 2. Fool In Love - The Veltones
3. 3. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man - Cher
4. 4. For You - Gizzelle
5. 5. This Time - Troy Shondell
6. 6. Lyin' Again - Kenny Rogers
7. 7. (Hey Won't You Play) Another Somebody Done Somebody Wrong Song - B.J. Thomas
8. 8. Dark End Of The Street - The Flying Burrito Bros
9. 9. Promises - Carla Thomas
10. 10. Every Little Bit Helps - Helen Henry
11. 11. Sandcastles - Merrilee Rush & The Turnabouts
12. 12. Last Night - Georgie Fame & The Blue Flames
13. 13. Somebody Mentioned Your Name - William Bell
14. 14. You're Gonna See A Lot More (Of My Leaving) - Barbara Lynn
15. 15. Don't Let It Be (This Time) - The Gentrys
16. 16. I'll Never Give Her Up (My Friend) - The Canes
17. 17. If She Should Ever Break Your Heart - Barbara Stephens
18. 18. Okeechobee Purple - Gary Stewart
19. 19. Staring Each Other Down - Brenda Lee
20. 20. Here Come The Flowers - Dottie West
21. 21. Easy Street - Johnny Cash
22. 22. He's Rolling Over And Over (In Someone Else's Clover) - Tammy Wynette
23. 23. So Much Like My Dad - George Strait
24. 24. Old Fords And A Natural Stone - Willie Nelson
Label: ACE
Cat No: CDTOP1598
Barcode: 029667102728
Packaging: CD (0.1 g)

He's not perhaps the best known or most prolific of those who have featured in Ace's Songwriter series, but few fans of American popular music from the 60s to the 90s would dispute that Lincoln Wayne "Chips" Moman is one of the most important.

Chips wore many professional hats during his almost 50-year career. Musician, label-owner, producer and studio owner are other areas at which he excelled. Here in "Back To The Basics" there are many notable examples of him wearing several of those hats simultaneously.
However, it's his songs that this compilation highlights. If Chips had only co-authored 'Dark End Of The Street', it would be enough to guarantee him songwriter immortality. But as you will hear in a collection that includes tracks by some of the most famous names in soul, pop and country music, it's far from being the only classic song in his catalogue.
The CD comprises two-dozen choice cuts - many of them chart-topping and million-selling records and songs - by high-calibre talents ranging from William Bell and Carla Thomas, to Gram Parsons and Cher, to Waylon Jennings, Kenny Rogers and Johnny Cash. Truly an all-star aggregation to honour a genuine all-round talent.