LP released: Jul 15, 2022

1. Mental Munchies
2. Double Dare
3. Get In The Van
4. I've Stopped Eating
5. By The Clydeside
6. (you've Got To) Activate A Carrot
7. Grease The Wheel
8. Down In Timperley
9. Almost Cut My Hair
10. Bleatings From Yorkshire
11. Jump To The Left
12. Let's Save Bobby Orlando's House
Label: LAME-O
Cat No: LMO083LP-C1
Barcode: 811408039796
Packaging: LP Regular

U.S. Highball is a Glasgow-based two-piece consisting of long-time best friends Calvin Halliday and James Hindle. Continuing from the formidable one-two punch of their debut, Great Record, and its follow-up, Up to High Doh, the pair have returned with A Parkhead Cross of the Mind, a third helping of queer power pop perfection straight from the heart of not-so-sunny Scotland. Recorded entirely at home during Scotland's third lockdown period, A Parkhead Cross of the Mind picks up almost directly where Up to High Doh left off. This time around, however, the choruses are ten times bigger, the instrumentation is more playful, and the amps have been duly cranked. Lyrically, the record deftly expands on Hindle and Halliday's distinctive and comically fatalistic worldview. Nestled within the record's twelve melodic nuggets are ruminations on unrequited love and professional tennis, alongside off-kilter odes to heroes like Neil Young and Frank Sidebottom. A Parkhead Cross of the Mind sees jangly college rock guitars twinned with the addictive chug and fuzz of classic '70s power pop, all tethered by earworm basslines and propulsive programmed drums that recall early They Might Be Giants if their apartment was in Baillieston rather than Brooklyn. In the immortal words of Nick Lowe, it's pure pop for now people.