4CD released: Nov 13, 2020

Disc 1
1. Nothing Special
2. The Great Silkie
3. The Garden Of Jane Delawney,
4. Lady Margaret
5. Glasgerion
6. She Moved Thro'
7. The Fair
8. Road
9. Epitaph
10. Snail'S Lament
Disc 2 : - On The Shore
1. Soldiers Three
2. Murdoch
3. Streets Of Derry
4. Sally Free And Easy
5. Fool
6. Adam'S Toon
7. Geordie, While
8. The Iron Is Hot
9. Little Sadie
10. Polly On The Shore
Disc 3 : Fore & After (Part 1)
1. Soldiers Three (Remix 2007)
2. Murdoch (Remix 2007)
3. Streets Of Derry (Remix 2007)
4. Geordie (Remix 2007)
5. Polly On The Shore (Remix 2007)
6. Fool (Remix 2007)
7. Polly On The Shore(Demo 1970) Previously Unreleased
8. Streets Of Derry (Demo 1970) Previously Unreleased
Disc 4 : - Fore & After (Part 2)
1. She Moved Thro' The Fair (Demo 1969)
2. Pretty Polly (Demo 1969)
3. The Great Silkie (Bbc 1970) Previously Unreleased
4. Soldier'S Three (Bbc 1970) Previously Unreleased
5. Little Black Cloud (Demo 1969 )
6. Forest Fire ( Bbc 1970)
7. Moved Thro' The Fair (Live At Cafe Oto 2018)*
8. Murdoch (Live At Cafe Oto 2018) *
9. Black Widow (2007)
10. Little Black Cloud Suite (2007)
Label: EARTH
Barcode: 0809236174321
Packaging: 4CD Regular Box Set

It s now over fifty years since Trees formation and, although Acid Folk has now become a sub-category in the lexicon of record dealers and music critics, and although founder member David Costa feels the original noughties reissue helped consolidate a gathering wave of curiosity, they themselves remain in the shadows. Earth s new Trees collection brings together both albums adding shiny alternate mixes of key tracks along with a selection of radio sessions and demos, all sounding brighter and cleaner than ever before. Trees first album, The Garden of Jane Delawney (1970) snuggles nicely into contemporary nu-folkies idea of the genre, and shares some of the pastoral-whimsy that characterised The Incredible String Band or Donovan, offset by some stunning interpretations of traditional material and Bias own songs, which were somehow part of the tradition Trees had adopted. Readings of Lady Margaret , Glasgerion and the old standard She Moved Thro The Fair , and the extended fade of the group s own Road , presage the explosive instrumental duelling that would come to characterise the follow-up album, On The Shore . There s a definite shift between the records, the second being darker and more ambivalent. Here Trees don t tell you what to think. You re left to formulate your own response to this odd, opaque music. The Streets of Derry session version leans into the brain vibrating drone-groove they somehow found at the traditional tune s centre. Polly On The Shore , another traditional tune, is one of the definitive moments of English folk-rock.

You may also like...