CD/Book released: May 31, 2024

1. Philosopher's Stone - Tohru Aizawa Quartet
2. Love Talken - Kohsuke Mine
3. Little B's Poem - Hideto Sasaki, Toshiyuki Sekine Quartet + 1
4. Take - Takeo Moriyama
5. Takeuma - Makoto Terashita Meets Harold Land
6. Dog's Dance - Miyasaka + 5
7. Future On You - Shintaro Quintet
8. Blue Road - Masaru Imada Trio + 1
9. Zekatsuma Selbst - Koichi Matsukaze Trio + Toshiyuki Daitoku
10. Rerev (Extended Version - Live) - Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet
Cat No: BBE634BK
Barcode: 197189820861
Packaging: CD + Book Pack

BBE Music is thrilled to present J Jazz: Free and Modern Jazz From Japan 1954-1988, a
remarkable large-format book covering some of the deepest, rarest, and most innovative
jazz music released anywhere in the post-war era. Compiled by Tony Higgins and Mike
Peden, co-curators of BBE Music's acclaimed J Jazz Masterclass Series, the book also
features a foreword by Japanese jazz icon, Terumasa Hino.
This is the first time a book of this type has been published outside of Japan and the first
anywhere of this size and scale. It is a unique collection of over 500 albums of free and
modern jazz released in Japan during a period of radical transformation and constant
reinvention. An era that saw Japan return from the ravages of World War Two to become a
global economic power and emerge as both a technological leader and an international
cultural force.
Through a unique gallery of albums, J Jazz charts the development of jazz in Japan from the
first stirrings of the modern jazz scene in the mid to late 1950s and on through the hard bop
and modal jazz of the 1960s. It steers the reader into the radical directions of the 1970s when
free jazz, fusion, post-bop, and jazz-funk opened up a growing number of Japanese jazz
artists to a new global audience before consolidating in the mid to late 1980s with a musical
scene that laid the path for the contemporary jazz generation to follow.
Over 500 full-colour sleeves from many of the leading names in Japanese jazz sit alongside
rare and private pressings that tell a story of constant change and musical exploration. J
Jazz includes profiles of several leading record labels such as East Wind, Frasco, King
Records, and Nippon Columbia as well as critical independents such as Three Blind Mice,
ALM, and Aketa’s Disk.
J Jazz includes interviews with celebrated jazz photographer Tadayuki Naito, and pianist
Tohru Aizawa, bandleader on the totemic spiritual jazz album, Tachibana Vol 1, as well as
free-jazz record collector and jazz musician Mats Gustafsson.
The book also features a chapter on albums by non-Japanese artists that only received a
Japanese release, with collectible, rare, and obscure releases by figures such as Herbie
Hancock, Miles Davis, Mal Waldron, Steve Lacy, and Art Blakey. J Jazz includes Japanese
jazz charts from some of the world's leading jazz DJs including Gilles Peterson, Toshio
Matsuura, Paul Murphy, and Shuya and Yoshihiro Okino. Among the specialist content is a
feature on obi strips by record dealer and Japanese jazz expert, Yusuke Ogawa, plus a
special article on Japanese Blue Note albums.
Across its 300-plus pages, J Jazz includes a detailed introduction contextualising the music,
tracing the story of Japan's fascination with jazz back before the war. It also features
biographical information on many of the key artists involved in shaping the post-war
Japanese jazz scene including Sadao Watanabe, Toshiko Akiyoshi, Masabumi Kikuchi,
Masahiko Togashi, Terumasa Hino, Yosuke Yamashita, Fumio Itabashi, Masayuki
Takayanagi, Takeo Moriyama, Isao Suzuki, and many more.