CD released: May 06, 2022

1. The Indelible Shuffle [murtceps]
2. It Would Be Nice [spectrum]
3. Ray's Boogie [murtceps]
4. Singing The Blues [murtceps]
5. I Think I Even Missed The Station [spectrum]
6. Hot Rocket [murtceps]
7. Real Meanie [murtceps]
8. Who Is Bugging You? [spectrum]
9. Essay In Paranoia [spectrum]
10. Homesick Valium Blues [spectrum]
Cat No: AVSCD092
Barcode: 934334410658
Packaging: CD Regular

And the hits keep a-comin' - It's extraordinarily rare to find an album that has never been reissued
on CD in the digital age, let alone never been reissued before. Thanks to Aztec Records, Spectrum
Indelible Murtceps' Testimonial gets the Digitally Remastered CD treatment for the first time. This
title continues to explore the works of the visionary and redoubtable Mike Rudd.
The musical journey that took singer / guitarist / songwriter Mike Rudd from R&B fanatic with
1960s garage punk champions Chants R&B through the 1970s glory days of Spectrum, The
Indelible Murtceps and Ariel onto elder statesmanship of the Australian music scene, is surely one
of the most remarkable in this country. This is the man who gave the nation the enduring #1 hit
single 'I'll Be Gone', a song that has become so ingrained in the collective Australian psyche as to
be accepted unconditionally and universally, surely the sign of a truly great composition.
During the early 1970s, Spectrum was Australia's pre-eminent concert attraction, dispensing
flowing, esoteric progressive psych rock to enraptured audiences. In October 1971 Rudd decided
to launch an alter-ego band in order to take advantage of the more lucrative dance and pub
circuit. Utilising the same musicians, The Indelible Murtceps presented a more danceable,
accessible sound and simply played for fun and profit.
As the band's final studio album, following the announcement of their imminent break-up in
March 1973, Testimonial brings together both entities. It's the perfect balance of danceable roots-
boogie rock and full-blown, dexterous prog-psych. The Murtceps deliver the jaunty hit single 'The
Indelible Shuffle', 'Ray's Boogie', 'Hot Rocket' and 'Real Meanie', deceptively simple in execution
and outcome. Spectrum stamps proceedings with 'It Would Be Nice', 'I Think I Even Missed The
Station' and 'Who Is Bugging You?', all slithery bass lines and tensile, ascending guitar riffs.