CD released: Sep 11, 2020
(Item no longer available)

1. Strong. Ready. Able (Prod. By Jon Glass)
2. T.H.I.N.G.S. (Prod. By Nottz)
3. Miss Education (Prod. By G Whiz)
4. Civilized Barbarians (Prod. By Evidence)
5. The Complex Ft. Pharoahe Monch (Prod. By Statik Selektah)
6. Isis Daughter Ft. Rayel (Prod. By Apollo Brown)
7. Rachel Green (Prod. By Drugs Beats)
8. Ego (Prod. By Shortfyuz)
9. Brotherly Love (Prod. By Andre X)
10. Legacy Driven (Prod. By Evidence)
11. White House (Prod. By Drugs Beats)
12. Benjamin's Dead Ft. Lil Fame & Singapore Kane (Prod. By Drugs Beats)
13. Animal Kingdom (Prod. By Apollo Brown)
14. King Of The Town Ft. Lucky Dice & Chi Knox (Prod. By Apollo Brown)
15. Heartbreak, Farewell (Prod. By Marco Polo)
16. The Wedding Song Ft C Scharp & Queen Philosophical (Prod. By Marco Polo)
17. This Village (Prod. By Evidence)
18. Nana & Grampy's Song (Prod. By Drugs Beats)
19. Still Dreaming (Prod. By Mephux)
Label: BRICK
Cat No: BRK181-CD
Barcode: 853044003816
Packaging: CD Regular

On his twelfth studio LP in nearly 20 years, Reks sounds just as
hungry and passionate on T.H.I.N.G.S. (The Hunger Inside Never
Gets Satisfied) as he did when Along Came The Chosen dropped
back in 2001. Perhaps even more so. There seems to be a fire that
gets lit under the Lawrence, MA native whenever he begins crafting a
new album.
"While my conceptualizing process has grown over the years, the
actual approach to getting started has remained consistent," Reks
says. "There's a youthful eagerness that comes over me every time
I'm about to start a new record."
That feeling is palpable throughout T.H.I.N.G.S., an album bursting
with everything you'd want from a Reks record, but also so much
more. There are certainly instances of his trademark wordplay mixed
with bravado on here, like the Apollo Brown-produced banger "King
of the Town" featuring Lucky Dice & Chi Knox. But the real core of
this record is Reks' reckoning with bigger societal issues that have
simply run rampant for far too long.

And given his talents with the pen, he's able to blend strong songwrit-
ing with deep, conceptual lyrics. Just listen to how he tackles white

privilege on the otherwise catchy "Rachel Green" or the way he
chronicles being Black in America on "White House." That's not even
mentioning "The Complex," a lyrically gripping look at PTSD and Big
Pharma featuring Pharoahe Monch, and his personal favorite track,
"Nana & Grampy's Song," a heartfelt dedication to Black love.
For Reks, it's all about delivering the best possible music to his fans
while staying true to himself. And he does exactly that not just
through his own gifts, but also through collaborations with the likes of
Pharoahe Monch, Lil Fame, Nottz, Apollo Brown, Statik Selektah,
Evidence, and Marco Polo, among others.

You may also like...