LP released: Mar 15, 2024
(Item no longer available)

1. Let's Talk (Vocal)
2. Let's Talk (Instrumental)
3. My Special One
4. Taking The Long Way Home (Bonus Track)
5. My World
6. I Don't Bite
7. Wiser And Deeper
8. Save Me (Bonus Track)
Cat No: NA5272LP
Barcode: 659457527259
Packaging: LP (100g)

Renowned for its enviable combination of musical muscle and malleability, guitarist/songwriter Raymond Alexander Jenkins' tight four-piece unit was so revered

on the uptown club circuit that it was offered the opportunity to serve as the Apollo
Theater house band. Jenkins demurred, hopeful and confident in his group s
chances at making it on its own, and Let's Talk is the sublime result of their hard
work. Independently released and recorded with a distinctly lo-fi charm, it is a
collection of unabashedly sincere songs that perfectly encapsulates the era's heady
milieu of Black pride and cultural awareness, and the plaintive emotion of struggling
to realize dreams whilst navigating a city and neighborhood in decline. Personal
tragedy coupled with Jenkins' inability to gain traction as a musician, would haunt
him for years. But Let's Talk's reputation would eventually spread via word-of-mouth
praise amongst soul and funk connoisseurs and record collectors. Now elevated to
exalted status, it may finally be more widely appreciated as a testament to Jenkins'
gifts. The main album is augmented by two songs by Ray Alexander Technique with
Chris Bartley, not available on the original album.