CD released: Jul 28, 2023

1. Fly Me To The Moon
2. Waking Up On Mars
3. The Seventh Son
4. Crepuscule On Jupiter
5. Cantaloupe Island
6. Playingamongthestar
7. I Fall In Love Too Easily
Label: BFD
Cat No: BFD513
Barcode: 819376051345
Packaging: CD Digipak

Matt Von Roderick may be the modern jazz crooner-trumpeter we’ve been waiting for. With
equal parts innovative jazz virtuosity and heart-centered vocals, trailblazer Von Roderick
mines the essence of classic jazz, rock, and electronica on CELESTIAL HEART and hits his
Featuring legendary drummer Jim Keltner (John Lennon, Bob Dylan, Steely Dan),
adventurous studio ace Mike Valerio and orchestration wizard Gil Goldstein (Wayne Shorter,
Pat Metheny), CELESTIAL HEART leads with Von Roderick’s out-of-this-world treatment of
Fly Me To The Moon, perhaps even more true to the original song lyrics — a version you
didn’t realize you needed until you hear it for the first time.
Utilizing his now signature multiphonics, loops, and spoken word, CELESTIAL HEART
cements Von Roderick’s place within the pantheon of the real-deal singing trumpeter. Where
some may be content to merely play ‘at’ the jazz tradition and American Songbook, Von
Roderick reinvents — creating compelling new worlds within these beloved, timeless
Rounding out the proceedings on CELESTIAL HEART is a nod to Mose Allison with the
earthy blues track The Seventh Son featuring veteran bluesmen Johnny Lee Schell and
Barry Goldberg, Herbie Hancock's Cantaloupe Island, three entirely improvised pieces, and a
stark, hauntingly beautiful I Fall In Love Too Easily