LP released: Oct 21, 2022

1. Sport
2. Spoon
3. The Cafe Black Rose
4. Brother Hominy Grit
5. Coppin' Some Fronts For The Set
6. Hamhock's Hall Was Big
7. The Bones Fly From Spoon's Hand
8. The Break Was So Loud, It Hushed The Crowd
9. Four Bitches Is What I Got
10. Grit's Den
11. The Shit Hits The Fan Again
12. Sentenced To The Chair
Barcode: 5060767442791
Packaging: LP (100g)

In 1973, a fast-talking hustler by the name of Sport played a huge part in the birth of HipHop. Brought to life by Lightnin’ Rod a.k.a Jalal of The Last Poets and backed by music from
Kool & The Gang, Buddy Miles, Billy Preston and more, ‘Hustlers' Convention’ is a concept
album documenting the rise and fall of Sport, a street gambler who ends up in jail after a
shoot-out with the police.
His street tales of card games, throwing dice and chasing women influenced the Wu Tang
Clan, Ice T, Public Enemy, Jungle Brothers and many more while also playing a key role in
establishing rap as an accepted modern musical art form.
A documentary about the album and its pivotal role in the evolution of hip hop is currently
being made. The film features interviews with Chuck D, Melle Mel, KRS One, Fab 5 Freddy
and more.
This remastered vinyl edition is pressed on 180-gram vinyl and is packaged in a facsimile
gatefold sleeve and also reproduces the illustrated inner booklet from original pressings.