LP released: Sep 02, 2022

1. Legs 4:26
2. Nitetime 4:06
3. End 3:31
4. Trouble With Being Warm 5:23
5. Panes 4:22
6. Bend 4:13
7. Bad Woman 3:00
8. Marriage Of Heaven And Hell 2:58
9. Home 3:28
Cat No: WV217LP
Barcode: 843563149744
Packaging: LP Regular

There is a moment on Sides, the new album from Richmond, Virginia-based duo Lean
Year, in which a hospital room floor is filled with white chrysanthemums. This imagery,
based on an opiate-induced hallucination experienced by vocalist Emilie Rex's mother
as she recovered from surgery, is a perfect encapsulation of the band's second album:
dreamlike and beautiful, yet burdened with cold, stark reality. Sides is a harrowing
journey through realms of grief and memory, a meditation woven into a tapestry of synth
pads, woodwinds, and Rex's instantly recognizable voice.
Sides-produced by Alverson alongside Erik Hall (In Tall Buildings) and featuring contributions from Elliot Bergman (Nomo, Wild Belle) and Joseph Shabason (Destroyer, The
War on Drugs)-has a distinctly cinematic quality, perhaps due in part to Alverson's other
career.Moments of jazz, slowcore, and dirgelike R&B find their way into the sorrowful,
ambient suite, lulling the listener into a state of calm while the lyrics speak of ghosts,
childhood, and mortality. Despite the gravity of the subject matter, Sides succeeds in
mastering a balancing act between pathos and pop. Each song is indelible and haunting, with melodies that have the kind of broad appeal reminiscent of Karen Dalton,
Aldous Harding, and FKA twigs.

You may also like...