CD released: Jun 09, 2023

1. Venomous
2. Infernal Lust
3. The Perennial Desire
4. The Phantasm
5. Vertiginous
6. Teeth Of The Hydra
7. Deathspawn
8. Fangs
9. Prelude
10. Come, Sweet Death
Cat No: HHR202329
Barcode: 8715392232923
Packaging: CD Regular

'Come, Sweet Death' alternates between brutality and winding single string melodies that
brings you back to the golden age of Swedish Death Metal!
They say that the more things change the more they stay the same. If there’s one thing that
has remained stable despite living in 2023 is that we love Swedish Death Metal. The
style has become a favorite of ours over the past 35 years. Something about the guitar tone
just makes you want to devour any release that can be described as 'Inspired by early
Entombed and Dismember'. The good thing is that there’s an incredible wealth of bands that
draw from that well. The bad thing is that said wealth leads to a lot of bands becoming
indistinguishable due to how same they are.
Thankfully, Imperishable’s 'Come, Sweet Death' manages to stand out from the pack, in no
small part due to breaking away from the genre’s usual trappings. And in a way this
is no surprise since the band members were or are involved in Vampire, Portrait, Nominon
and Dr. Living Dead!
As you might have already gathered, the band draws a lot from the Stockholm scene, more
specifically Dismember, that is undeniable. What’s really interesting though is that they draw
from their later, and more melodic influenced era as much as from the early days.
Imperishable, like their peers effortlessly blends the aggressive buzzsaw riffing with leads
with melody, which most modern bands in the style avoid in favor of pure aggression. Said
blend can be seen throughout their debut album, though it can be felt more on the longer
tracks, like 'Teeth of the Hydra' and 'Fangs', where the band has more room to develop
their ideas and mix grinding Death Metal with NWOBHM-inspired leads and riffs. In short:
Imperishable has great songs, great melodies, well-arranged structures and still is brutal,
just like the great old bands were. And the production is spot on for this release.
It is good to hear a band experiment beyond the confines of the original old school Swedish
Death Metal sound. 'Come, Sweet Death' is an extremely promising release, and a
small breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale scene. Imperishable’s love for the more
melodic aspects of the style make them worth keeping an eye on now and in future.

You may also like...