2CD released: Jul 05, 2024

Disc 1 : Look Over The Hill And Far Away
1. Look Over The Hill And Far Away
2. Patrick
3. Rick Rack
4. Her Father Didnæt Like Me Anyway
5. Please Sing A Song For Us
6. Blood And Glory
7. Coconut Tree
8. I Canæt Stop Now
9. All The Best People Do It
10. Steamboat Row
11. Shoeshine Boy
12. Keep It To Yourself
13. Song For Simon
14. My Singing Bird
15. Half A Mile (Church Version)
16. Half A Mile (Backing Track)
17. Continental Song
18. Continental Song (Backing Track)
Disc 2 : New Street Blues
1. New Street Blues
2. Didnæt I?
3. Mr. Universe
4. Mary Skeffington
5. Long Way Round
6. Can I Have My Money Back?
7. Sign On The Dotted Line
8. Make You, Break You
9. To Each And Everyone
10. One Drink Down
11. Donæt Count Me Out
12. Half A Chance
13. Where I Belong
14. So Bad Thinking
15. Mary Skeffington (Overdubbed Version)
16. Who Cares (Demo Version)
17. Bernard
18. In Loving Memory
19. Make You, Break You (Alternative Version)
20. Donæt Count Me Out (Alternative Version)
21. Mr. Universe (Alternative Version)
22. Martha
23. Way Of Knowing
24. Who Cares (Finished Master)
Cat No: CRSEG060D
Barcode: 5013929186026
Packaging: 2CD Digipak

Whether recording as a solo performer, a member of Stealers Wheel or as one-half of The Humblebums (the other half, of course, being Billy Connolly), the late Gerry Rafferty was always a master craftsman, leaving behind a dazzling portfolio of songs headed by huge hits Stuck In The Middle With You and the equally timeless Baker Street .Although early success eluded him, it was during his time with the nominally folk-oriented Transatlantic label that Gerry learnt his craft, sharing space with Connolly on two Humblebums albums before the superb 1971 solo set Can I Have My Money Back? As most fans will be only too aware, those early recordings have been repackaged on a regular basis over the last four decades or so with varying degrees of care and attention. What makes the 2-CD set Who Knows What The Day Will Bring? different from the pack is that, for the first time, a full anthology of Gerry s early years is available under one roof.In addition to every album track, stray B-side and remixed single, we ve added a cache of previously-unreleased songs and alternative versions (including two early versions of Who Cares , a song that would later turn up in substantially different format on the second Stealers Wheel LP) taken from a bunch of multi-track masters that have been gathering dust in Transatlantic s archives for the last fifty years.With a host of hitherto-unheard songs and performances, the first-ever complete reissue of Can I Have My Money Back? (previous attempts have substituted an unauthorised overdubbed Mary Skeffington in place of the original, far superior album version), Who Knows What The Day Will Bring? Is nothing less than a complete, unexpurgated document of Rafferty s adventures in the recording studio between 1969 and 1971, with all tracks taken from the master-tapes. A digipak release, the 20 page booklet features numerous photos, obscure European picture sleeves and a definitive 5000 word note on Gerry s early years.

You may also like...