CD released: Jun 10, 2022

1. Sleepwalkers
2. Money For All
3. Do You Know Me Now?
4. Angels
5. World Citizen - I Won't Be Disappointed
6. Five Lines
7. The Day The Earth Stole Heaven
8. Modern Interiors
9. Exit / Delete
10. Pure Genius
11. Wonderful World
12. Transit
13. World Citizen
14. The World Is Everything
15. Thermal
16. Sugarfuel
17. Trauma
Cat No: CDGRON256
Barcode: 5060238638371
Packaging: CD Digipak

in the 00s, DAVID SYLVIAN produced two of his strongest and most solitary statements, BLEMISH and MANAFON. but those records don't tell the whole story. during that the same period, SYLVIAN created an alternate body of work: a series of collaborations and side projects with leading talents of pop and improv, electronic and contemporary classical music. the best of these recordings are gathered here on SLEEPWALKERS, meticulously sequenced and remixed: the fruits of one-off meetings and lifelong partnerships, they jump from bliss to intrigue, romance to sensuality, as arch experiments lead into the lushest pop.

the single 'world citizen - i won't be disappointed,' written with RYUICHI SAKAMOTO, is a sublime example, with an impeccable melody and lyric warmed by SYLVIAN'S gorgeous tenor. SYLVIAN has worked with SAKAMOTO for close to three decades. by contrast, on 'pure genius,' a collaboration with CHRIS VRENNA aka tweaker, he sounds like he's walked into a heist flick, singing the part of a delusional, dangerous bedroom genius. as sylvian explains, tracks like this 'give me a chance to write in a way that's completely non-personal, playful. it's an exercise of some kind, working within the parameters of a given assignment.'

You may also like...