LP released: Mar 14, 2023

1. M
2. I
3. D
4. N
5. I
6. G
7. H
8. T

Smalltown Supersound is proud to announce the new album from Dan Lissvik (formerly of Studio), the album is a brand new collection of instrumentals made throughout 2015, the year Lissvik became a father for the first time. The title refers to the time he would start his recording sessions after his wife and newborn baby went to bed. Midnight is filled with the Dan Lissvik signature sounds; gentle guitars, laidback bass, dubby disco, lush balearics and sun-drenced psychedelics. The album was recorded at home with a stripped back setup of an analog graphic equalizer he found at a flea market, a bass guitar and a mic. He worked at night with a thermos of coffee, while his young family slept in the room furthest away from his studio. His process was to press record and let the midnight jams unfurl, resulting in a sound and mood that has shifted since his previous release, Meditation, under the moniker Atelje in January 2015. Ten years ago, Dan Lissvik was instrumental in kicking off the mid-noughties Balearic revival alongside his partner in the group Studio, Rasmus Flagg. Both came from the frozen coast of Sweden (rather than Ibiza) and their debut West Coast was hailed as one of 2006's best releases, making Rough Trade's top 10 albums of the year. Their sound was a blissful, effortless, laidback afrobeat-kraut-disco-pop and won a legion of fans. Though West Coast made Studio internationally acclaimed (they even remixed Kylie Minogue's ''2 Hearts'') that was the only record they ever made. Lissvik showed little interest in pursing an international DJ career or touring as a ''band,'' preferring to stay in Gothenburg and record. Then, in 2012, six years after West Coast was released, Studio officially broke up with a quick note. For Studio-addicts, Lissvik hinted at a tantalizing stockpile of new material - at one point posting 50 tracks on Soundcloud before taking them down. Then in 2014, he started to release new material, beginning with the limited-edition 300-release run of the Atelje LP Meditations, with the Dan Lissvik ''Airwalk/Shuvit'' 12'' to follow via Smalltown Supersound. Now, ten years following the release of West Coast, as the influence of Studio's work reverberates up through a new generation of producers (Jamie xx sampled a beach-blissed loop from it for ''Girl''), Lissvik's Midnight is set for release.

You may also like...