CD released: Jan 31, 2020

1. You Brought The Sunshine
2. Everything's Gonna Be Alright
3. Jesus I'll Never Forget - Elbernita 'twinkie' Clark
4. He Keeps Me Company
5. Awake O Zion - Elbernita 'twinkie' Clark
6. Keep On Looking Up
7. Patience
8. Overdose Of The Holy Ghost
9. Crown Him Lord Of All
10. I'm Going To Have Just What I Want
11. Power - Elbernita 'twinkie' Clark
12. My Cup Runneth Over
13. No Other Name
14. My Mind Is Made Up
15. God You Get The Glory - Elbernita 'twinkie' Clark
16. I Found What I'm Looking For
17. Nothing To Lose All To Gain
Cat No: CDSEWD159
Barcode: 0029667085328
Packaging: CD Regular

The first-ever compilation of the most important
gospel crossover recordings by the Clark Sisters
and their leader Elbernita 'Twinkie' Clark. The
Clark Sisters were at their very best on this
material, and it made them stars of the gospel
The CD focuses on their recordings for
Westbound subsidiary Sound Of Gospel made
between 1976 and 1981. These tracks saw the
group at the forefront of modernising gospel
music, something that wasn't without
controversy. This culminated in the surprise
success of 'You Brought The Sunshine' - an early
80s classic on the New York club scene.
In recent years collectors have realised that the
Sisters four Sound Of Gospel albums are full of
soul-influenced cuts, from the four-to- the-floor
disco exuberance of 'Everything's Gonna Be
Alright' to the impassioned 'I'm Going To Have
Just What I Want' with its nods to Aretha
Twinkie was so full of music that she released
two further albums under her own name. The
second, "Ye Shall Receive Power", now sells for
hundreds of pounds, based on demand for the
track 'Awake O Zion'. We have included four of
the best tracks from these albums.