2LP released: Oct 13, 2023

Side A
1. 5:55
2. Af607105
Side B
1. The Operation
2. Tel Que Tu Es
3. The Songs That We Sing
Side C
1. Beauty Mark
2. Little Monsters
3. Jamais
Side D
1. Night-time Intermission
2. Everything I Cannot See

2023 repress as double heavy weight black vinyl , with original artwork & gatefold sleeve.

Originally released in 2006, even though 5:55 isn't technically Charlotte Gainsbourg's first solo album (that would be Charlotte for Ever, which was released [in 1986] when she was 15), it is her first solo album as an adult and, with the help of a dream team of collaborators, it's a fittingly sophisticated set that touches on her father Serge's brilliantly louche, literate pop without being overshadowed by it.

Air's Jean-Benoit Dunckel and Nicolas Godin (who paid tribute to Serge Gainsbourg particularly well on 10,000 Hz Legend's 'Wonder Milky Bitch') wrote 5:55's delicate music, while Jarvis Cocker and the Divine Comedy's Neil Hannon penned its lyrics.

This mingling of French and English influences is mirrored in Charlotte Gainsbourg's subtly expressive voice and accent, which provides the perfect complement to the album's lush sounds and vivid imagery.

You may also like...