LP released: Jun 28, 2024

Side A
1. Nothing Grows From Hallowed Ground
2. The Fallacy
3. Ghosts In The Trenches
4. Mark Of The Dead
5. Altar Of Oblivion
Side B
1. The Night They Came
2. Silent Pain
3. Damnation
4. In The Cesspit Of Divine Decay
5. Wind Among Waves
Cat No: 1187761
Barcode: 5700907272108
Packaging: LP (100g)

In late 2022, ALTAR OF OBLIVION signed a deal with From the Vaults and released last
year’s 'Burning Memories'-EP serving as an appetizer for their upcoming fourth full-length.
But NOTHING could foresee what was to come. 'In The Cesspit Of Divine Decay', the new
album from the Danish epic doomsters, is a concept work based on the diary of guitarist
Martin Meyer Sparvath’s maternal great-grandfather Jesper Wilhem Meyer, who reluctantly
fought for the German Empire during The Great War (1914-1918).
Preparations for this aural endeavour began in 2005, when the band tracked a demo version
of what years later would morph into the now completed album, which was originally
supposed to be the debut full-length of the early duo incarnation of the band. This album
contains some of the band’s first ever creations, and in many ways, it can be regarded as
some sort of Altar Of Oblivion-prototype, bringing forth and spewing out their darkest and
most traditional epic doom-work to date. During and since the pandemic, Altar Of Oblivion
have been in recording mode, finishing both new and old stuff, including two full-lengths,
two EPs and an acoustic album, enabling the band to take a well-deserved studio-break in
order to focus on live shows from now on. A number of gigs have been confirmed for 2024,
and the collective is now looking forward to hitting the stage again, heavier, older and more
invigorated than ever. Time will tell if playing live is the right cure for a severe case of
discoloured studio tan.