CD released: Oct 25, 2019

1. A Letter From Vietnam - Emanuel Lasky
2. I'll Bet You - Funkadelic
3. Everything's Gonna Be Alright - Bill Moss & The Celestials
4. Ain't No Telling - Houston Outlaws
5. I've Changed - The Magictones
6. Trapped By A Thing Called Love - Denise Lasalle
7. Pain - Ohio Players
8. Why Not Start All Over Again - The Counts
9. Baby Let Me Take You (In My Arms) - Detroit Emeralds
10. Yes I'm In Love - Unique Blend
11. Crazy Legs - Donald Austin
12. Funky Worm - Ohio Players
13. I Love You - Motivations
14. Music Man Part 1 - Pleasure Web
15. Get Up Off My Mind - Denise Lasalle
16. Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On - Funkadelic
17. Alvin Stone (The Birth And Death Of A Gangster) - Fantastic Four
18. Get Ya Some - Melvin Sparks
19. If You Love Him - Junie
20. The Magic Man - King Errison
21. Devil's Gun - Cj & Co
22. Feel The Need - Detroit Emeralds
23. Calling Planet Earth - Dennis Coffey
24. High On Mad Mountain - The Mike Theodore Orchestra
Cat No: CDSEWD166
Barcode: 029667096324
Packaging: CD Regular

50 years ago Emanuel Lasky's timely 'A Letter From Vietnam' appeared on a brand new light blue label with a royal blue label name: Westbound Records was born.

In the ensuing years it set about proving that post-Motown Detroit could still be a home to successful music-making, scoring hits and developing careers with a series of acts including Funkadelic, Denise LaSalle, the Detroit Emeralds and the Ohio Players, as well as registering pop hits with Byron McGregor, and recording incredible jazz on its Eastbound label.

"Everything Is Gonna Be Alright" looks at and celebrates the label's achievements in the world of soul, funk and gospel. Named after Bill Moss' uplifting gospel anthem, the journey takes you from the label's very first single through the vocal group traditions of the Detroit Emeralds, the Magictones and Unique Blend, the funk of Funkadelic and the Ohio Players through to the Dennis Coffey and Mike Theodore-dominated disco era with CJ & Co and others.

The compilation has a mixture of big hits and rarities - from the Northern Soul classic by the Houston Outlaws to the much-sampled Pleasure Web. All are presented in their original seven-inch edits, many of which have never been reisssued.