CD released: Jan 25, 2019

1. Slip, Slip, Slippin' In - Eddie Bond & His Stompers
2. Carol - Bill Black'S Combo
3. A Touch Of The Blues - Bobby Bland
4. Dream Baby - Jerry & Reggie
5. I'M Movin' On - The Box Tops
6. The Champion Pt. 1 - Willie Mitchell
7. Meet Me In Church - Solomon Burke
8. Chicken Crazy - Joe Tex
9. In The Pocket - King Curtis & The King Pins
10. More Love - James Carr
11. Don't Forget About Me - Dusty Springfield
12. Stranger In My Own Home Town - Elvis Presley
13. I Wanna Roo You - Jackie De Shannon
14. Drift Away - Dobie Gray
15. Rock 'N' Roll (I Gave You The Best Years Of My Life) - Sonny Curtis
16. Victim Of Life'S Circumstances - Delbert Mcclinton
17. Lover Please - Billy Swan
18. Morning Glory - James & Bobby Purify
19. Cocaine - J.J. Cale
20. I Think I'll Just Stay Here And Drink - Merle Haggard
21. The Highwayman - The Highwaymen Aka Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, Kris Kristofferson
22. Griselda - Natalie Merchant
23. Whenever You Come Around - Little Milton
24. Where Do We Go From Here - Waylon Jennings
Cat No: CDCHD1537
Barcode: 029667093323
Packaging: CD Regular

During his six-decade career as a session man, predominantly
in Memphis and Nashville, Reggie Young's unique guitar work
has embellished 45s and albums by just about every major
artist who cut tracks in those two hotbeds of recording activity.
There were plenty of lower profile names, too, who made great
records without necessarily over-working the chart compilers.
To Reggie it didn't matter; he always did his best to provide
what he felt was right for the song, very often just some
personalised licks and fills here and there, but he would cut
loose on a scorching solo if he thought it added to the overall
performance. This CD contains a healthy mixture of both, and
much in between.
? Our overview shows Reggie Young completely at home in all
the various genres that have provided top class material for so
many Ace LPs and CDs for the best part of forty years. It has
R&B and blues, rock'n'roll, instrumentals, rockabilly, soul and
pop, as well as a veritable helping of left-field country to reflect
the amount of time Reggie plied his trade in Nashville. A-sides,
B-sides and album tracks have been carefully selected to sit
comfortably together while simultaneously illustrating the
development of Reggie Young's armoury of guitar stylings
from the 1950s and into the present century.
? Reggie Young's guitar work has been heard on many Ace
compilations over the years, and none more so than our still
available CD "Memphis Boys: The Story Of American Studios"
(CDCHD 1330) released in 2012. We have therefore avoided any
duplication of tracks here, even though several of the same
artists are featured. Hence you will find some equally tasty
alternatives to the likes of Dusty Springfield's 'Son Of A
Preacher Man', King Curtis' 'Memphis Soul Stew' and Joe
Tex's 'Skinny Legs And All'.