LP released: Jul 17, 2012

1. I Can T Escape Myself
2. Heartland
3. Hour Of Need
4. Words Fail Me
5. Missiles
6. Heyday
7. Jeopardy
8. Night Versus Day
9. Resistance
10. Unwritten Law
11. Desire
Label: 1972
Cat No: IF02
Barcode: 0852545003028
Packaging: LP Regular

Formed in 1979 and fronted by the mercurial and troubled Adrian Borland, The Sound are one of the most unjustly neglected band of the 80s.

Fed up with its simplistic structure and rote posturing, Borland cut ties to the punk movement after fronting 77-era group The Outsiders, Borland wanted to create a sound that relied more on atmospheres, tensions and instrumental interplay while harnessing the urgency of punk's spirit.

With the release of 'Jeopardy', The Sound turns this inspiration into a nearly perfect debut, Featuring rough-edged production fitting its £800 recording budget, 'Jeopardy' is a caustic rush, full of songs with hooks and emotional impact that never resort to histrionics.

The album's opener starts off minimally, until the nervy guitars of the chorus rip through the song, This auspicious beginning only hints at what's to come, Every song that follows builds on the momentum of a complex pop masterpiece, Borland's lyrics also prove him to be one of the few post-punk songwriters whose words are worth poring over and analyzing.