LP released: Apr 24, 2020
(Item no longer available)

Side 1
1. Vou Lhe Pisar
2. Voc Balan A Meu Cora O
3. Amor Amargo
4. A Menina Que Se Foi
5. A Recordar
6. A Confus O
Side 2
1. Meu Cora O N O Algema
2. Minha Saudade
3. Tempestade
4. O Trem
5. Carrossel Da Vida
6. O Amanhecer
Cat No: VAMPI216
Barcode: 8435008863654
Packaging: LP

The Silvery Boys was created in 1965 in the district of Campo Grande, Rio de Janeiro,
featuring a unique blend of organ, guitar, bass, drums, trumpet, and trombone. They
became known as "The Famous Bandinha de Campo Grande" and released their debut
album on RGE in 1967.
At the end of the 60s, the sound of the garage beat and the bossa nova and samba
coexisted smoothly in the repertoire of a good number of Brazilian bands. You could
find playful farfisa licks and guitar riffs combined with moving bossa rhythm drum
patterns and powerful brass arrangements, groovy club tunes next to lounge mood
sounds, across the tracklist of so many albums released at the time. That is exactly
what the second album of The Silvery Boys (1968) comprises.
Band members Jos Carlos (trombone) and Fernando Soares (guitarra) sign most of
the songs on this self-titled record that also includes some versions of the Spanish
famous Duo Din mico, 'Amor amargo' and 'A Recordar', as well as other international
hits (Tommy James & The Shondells' 'Gone, Gone, Goner'). However, 'Voc Balan a
Meu Cora o' -composed by Jos Messias- is the stand-out cut here and became a
much sought-after club tune after being included in the second volume of the cult
compilation series "High Jazz" in the early 00s. A dance song so irresistible that makes
the search for this elusive Brazilian album worthwhile.
After years unavailable and with originals currently selling for outrageous prices, we
are thrilled to offer The Silvery Boys LP, reissued on vinyl for the first time in its
original artwork and quality 180g pressing.