3CD released: May 19, 2017
(Item no longer available)

1. Sleeper I
2. Sleeper Ii
3. Sleeper Iii
4. Sleeper Iv
5. Sleeper V
6. Sleeper Vi
7. Sleeper Vii
8. Sleeper Viii
9. Sleeper Ix
10. Sleeper X
11. Sleeper Xi
12. Sleeper Xii
Label: SIGE
Cat No: SIGE057
Barcode: (NO BARCODE)
Packaging: 3CD Digipak

Daniel Menche is best known for his assemblages of visceral, industrial-strength
noise. In such head-rinsing recordings as Vilk (2013), Deluge (2003), and
Fields of Skin (1997), Menche's compositional directives instigate and exacerbate the
physiological properties of anxiety -- increased blood pressure, blurred vision, claustrophobia,
panic, disorientation, etc. In the hands of a talented composer such as Menche,
noise can be demonstrative, cathartic and even communal. But after three decades of
intense relentlessness, Menche posed the internal question: "Why the hell do I gravitate
to compositions that stresses people out?" In re-evaluating his own compositional
strategies and philosophical stances, Menche worked out the ideas through sound. Out
of that research came the makings an ambient record that he could fall asleep to. These
recordings seek to amplify the re-imagined traces of light and dark across the inner
eyelid of the dreamer caught in that crepuscular moment between wake and sleep.
To peg this album as merely an ambient record is to do Sleeper a gross disservice. This
a MENCHE ambient record. Feckless new age drivel, this is not. While seeking a graceful
tranquility and placid states of mind, Menche's compositional tools remain the sonic
equivalent of a chainsaw. Rough edges and bold gestures are steadfast reminders that
Menche is at the helm. In Sleeper, Menche plunges into the harmonic dissonance and
glassine minimalism found in the historical works of La Monte Young and Charlemagne
Palestine. Never one to be static, Menche drapes his ephemerally half-melodic loops and
unfurled sonic tapestries onto a distant, iron-clad thump as a rhythmic spine. The
ghostly frequencies that flare out of from his drones almost always evolve into sharp
and blinding coronas of sound, embruing the album with an unnerving tension.