LP released: Jun 26, 2015

1. Alabama Bound
2. 32-20
3. We're Not On The Same Trip
4. East Virginia Blues
5. How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away?
6. I Saw Her
7. I Always Wanted A Girl Like You
8. Codine Blues
9. Walkin
10. I Got Mine
11. Steppin In Society
12. By Hook Or By Crook
13. Devil's Got My Man
14. Jack Of Diamonds
15. The Shadow Knows
Cat No: HIQLP035
Barcode: 0029667003612
Packaging: LP

With the 50th anniversary of the American band the Charlatans debut this summer, Big Beat are celebrating with this carefully conceived deluxe vinyl edition of the original line-up's best recordings, The Limit Of The Marvelous . The iconic quintet are widely acknowledged with kickstarting the San Francisco 1960s renaissance. The Charlatans presented a blend of Americana-infused popular styles, encompassing country, swing, bluegrass, 50s rock n roll and olde English folk. The band's image radiated class that few of their hirsute, tie-dyed peers matched. The Limit Of The Marvelous distils the best cuts from Big Beat's essential Amazing Charlatans CD to approximate the long-player the group should have issued at their peak in 1966. It juxtaposes idiosyncratic folk-rock Codine Blues and Alabama Bound with dustbowl-dry originals from the pen of guitarist/drummer Dan Hicks, including the first recording of his signature number How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away . Housed in a Globe Propaganda-approved sleeve complete with copious illustrations of this most photogenic of outfits, The Limit Of The Marvelous is a fitting reminder in their anniversary year of the continuing magic of the Charlatans. A 180g coloured vinyl release