2CD released: May 07, 2018

Disc 1
1. Overture
2. Heaven On Their Minds
3. What's The Buzz/strange Thing Mystifying
4. Everything's Alright
5. This Jesus Must Die
6. Hosanna
7. Poor Jerusalem
8. Pilate's Dream
9. The Temple
10. Everything's Alright (Reprise)
11. I Don't Know How To Love Him
12. Damned For All Time/blood Money
Disc 2
1. The Last Supper
2. Gethsemane (I Only Want To Say)
3. The Arrest
4. Peter's Denial
5. Pilate And Christ
6. King Herod's Song
7. Could We Start Again Please
8. Judas' Death
9. Trial Before Pilate (Including The 39 Lashes)
10. Superstar
11. The Crucifixion
12. John Nineteen: Forty One
Cat No: AVSCD083
Barcode: 0934334407535
Packaging: 2CD Pack

IT'S REMARKABLE to consider that in the 46 years since the 1972 debut of the original Australian stage
production of JESUS CHRIST SUPERSTAR, there has never been an official recording released of the actual
live show from that time. It was one of the most significant events in local theatre, and surely it deserves to
be presented for audio gratification before the memories fade from the minds and hearts of those who saw
it in the first place. The wait is finally over as Aztec Records now delivers, on double CD, a stirring
performance from December 1973 that captures the show in all its glory.

Jesus Christ Superstar, the original rock opera written by Andrew Lloyd Webber (music) and Tim Rice
(lyrics), told the story of the final six days in the life of Jesus Christ through the troubled eyes of Judas
Iscariot. It was a cultural event not seen or heard before. When the Australian production opened it was
the most anticipated and lavish theatre event in the era of Jesus Rock. In a TV advert aired in the day,
producer Harry M. Miller extolled the virtues of the show when he announced, "Perhaps once in a lifetime
there comes an entertainment phenomenon, a show that gets to the heart of all people, really moves
them. Jesus Christ Superstar is such a show and I think it's important that you see it, with your children."
Directed by the most gifted and radical director on the Sydney theatre scene, Jim Sharman, this 1973
performance features the incomparable charisma and sterling voices of Jon English (Judas), Marcia Hines
(Mary Magdalene), Trevor White (Jesus), John Paul Young (Annas), Reg Livermore (King Herod) and Stevie
Wright (Simon Zealotes). Sharman went on to direct the original theatre production of The Rocky Horror
Show and the subsequent film version, The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Of course, Jon, Marcia, John Paul
and Stevie are renowned as among Australia's most famous pop stars, much beloved by all fans of
Countdown and beyond.

Despite the positive nature of the rock opera, the local production was beset by controversy. Protesters
were out in force in Sydney, offended by the perceived blasphemous nature of the show. Placards were
raised in anger - "Jesus Christ is our Saviour, not a Super Star" - with theatre patrons, and even Jon English
on one occasion, being jostled by the crowds. To make matters worse there was also a bomb threat which,
fortunately, proved to be unfounded. The initial backlash was all a storm in a teacup because Jesus Christ
Superstar emerged as a celebrated crowd favourite and ran for a record-breaking three years.

Package Contents
For the first time ever - previously unreleased live recordings of the original Australian stage production. Featuring Jon English, Marcia Hines, Trevor White, John Paul Young, Reg Livermore, Stevie Wright. The entertainment phenomenon of the early 1970s, the most lavish theatre event of the day. From the original rock opera written by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice. Digitally Remastered sound, on a Deluxe DOUBLE CD Digipak, colour booklet with rare photos and detailed liner notes